Muchacha Rosada

Happy weekend!! It went by too fast since I had to work on Saturday….but I can still enjoy what’s left, and so can you with this post 😉 Here’s my latest mix….I think it is elegantly delectable, and the surprising part is it’s TEQUILA!!

A shout out to my tequila-lovers, though it seems there are far and few. But this drink might change your mind, even if you’re not too fond of the stuff!

Here’s what you need:

3 shots tequila (3oz-this drink is martini-style so you should probably break out the good stuff!)

2 shots (2 oz) fresh grapefruit juice

2 shots (2oz) cranberry juice

1 shot (1oz) simple syrup

Step 1: Start by juicing! Of course you can buy grapefruit juice but where’s the fun in that? Plus this fresh juice has a powerfully pink color which gives the drink it’s girliness 🙂

I used my hand juicer and ended up with 8 oz of juice from ONE grapefruit….that’s a lot of juice for your money. I will admit this was a bit of work, but by the end of the process I earned my new nickname “Jerika-o-lay The Juicer” 😉

Step 2: Next up, the garnish! This drink is fun because of grapefruit skewer served over the top. Slice the grapefruit length wise (so you can see the sections) and skewer a few pieces on a bamboo skewer or even a straw.

Step 3: Mix up cranbery, grapefruit juice, simple syrup, and TEQUILA and shake it until your hands are frozen.

A word about the tequila….this is the “good stuff” from Mexico! Hence the worm (aka gusano). Apparently the worm thing is a gimmick, by which people think it is an indication of premium liquor when in fact it was previously and indicator of lower product and infestation of the larvae from the agave plant. Now the worms are put in to attract buyers…meh works for me, I think it make it more authentic 🙂 Fun fact of the day!

I was VERY disappointed to discover I couldn’t get the worm out of the bottle to shoot it like a badass. Sad!

Step 4: Pour into a chilled, sugar-rimmed glass, and ENJOY 🙂

OMG this drink was fantabulous! I had 2 before dinner and we continued to sip them after the return from our Friday date night! And it’s so pretty! Definately a new favorite for Mrs. Cummings!! Enjoy!

If you like tequila you might try:

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Muchacha Rosada

  1. Lena says:

    Can’t wait to try this and make my hubby (former bartender) oh-so proud. Do you just come up with this stuff or have you had some training/help?

    • your hubby’s a bartender?? lucky lady!! all my recipes are originals…usually inspired by drink menus when I go out or whatever I have in the fridge 🙂 and i like to drink so that’s my “training” 😉

      • Natty Nook says:

        He worked as a bartender for a few months right after college. Now he just whips something awesome up on a regular basis. He loves it. You would be like, BFFs. You both have a gift:)

  2. On The Go Bride says:

    I’ve always been a tequila fan! Will have to try soon 🙂

  3. Maria says:

    I made grapefruit margaritas the other night and oh man! So good!! Now I’ll have to try it with cranberry juice!..or maybe the pomegranate (only bc I already have that on hand :P)

  4. Girl … you just need to come dis way … mucho tequila fans! 🙂 Love the pics … when I can drink again I will be back for to give dis a try! 🙂

  5. nick says:

    Wonder if I can get my wife off of the Skinnygirl Margs and on to this as it looks loads better. Nice.

  6. drinksociety says:

    Hello! Thankyou for the post on my blog, it’s very new i’m suprised you found it so fast!

    Tequila and grapefruit are a fantastic match, that drink looks tasty.

    In Mexico they drink a lot of Palomas (Dove in Spanish) If you can get hold of Ting or another grapefruit soda, try 2oz of tequila with grapefruit soda over ice, some fresh lime and a salt rim if you’re feeling fancy.

    I’ll try and cover it soon on my blog (got quite a queue of drink requests building up!)

    Cheers, Liam 🙂

  7. Delightfully Adorned says:

    Yum! If that is as good as it looks, consider me faced. 🙂

  8. lindseyotta says:

    this looks delicious!

  9. Meghan R says:

    Looks delish!

Leave a comment