Wine-O Corky Coasters

Hey There! Got to some week-night crafting last night, which never happens! But I’ve been dying to do something with all the corks that are piling up….so I threw together these adorable Wine-O Cork Coasters.

We have a cork problem at my house…..meh maybe we have a different problem, but the corks are definately piling up 🙂

I have been saving corks since I started blogging last year, thinking “Hey I could do something really cool with all these”. So we started to put them in a “junk” drawer. Once it was full we started putting them in the utensil drawer…..before we knew it ALL the kitchen drawers were filled with corks.

By December my husband was like “Jerika, we have too many corks, I’m throwing them away”. “NOOOOOO, I got a really cool project coming up and I need them.” Lies lies lies….I haven’t touched the corks since they started piling up almost 8 months ago, so here’s a start to doing something with them 🙂

Here’s what you need:

  • wine corks! all about the same size, you will need 16 per coaster
  • hot glue gun! I went through about 1/2 stick of glue per coaster
  • a magazine! after globs of hot glue dripped onto my counter I thought I’d include this in things you need 🙂

Step 1: Apply 1 strip of hot glue length-wise across a cork. A little goes a long way, the less glue the better. You will be able to see some of the glue after it dries but with 1 strip it is minimal.

Step 2: Apply second cork to the glue strip. Hold for ~10 seconds to secure.

Steps 3/4: After making 4- 2×2 cork squares, combine the squares into 4-cork rectangles.

Steps 5/6: Complete by combining the 4-cork rectangles into the 16-cork coaster.

Repeat steps 1-6 until you run out of corks! You will need 64 corks to complete a 4-coaster set. These corks were from the winery, un-used. But I like the used ones because they have more character with the red wine stained edges!

This project is so easy!! What a great way to use up all those corks!

Corky Ideas:

  • Gift Wrapping: You can package them up with twine and a satin ribbon and give them away as the perfect wine-lovers gift.
  • Place-card Holders: I had a couple extra cork squares so I cut a slit in them and made it into a place-card holder, adorable!
  • DIY Wine Night Favors: You could have a coaster making station at your next wine and cheese night and let your guests make their own favor!

 Well the wine cork supply has been exhausted in my house… for now. We still have an ample supply of champagne corks which I have no idea what to do with, any ideas??

Wine Lovers: If you like this, check out my Wine Lover’s Plaque and Chalkboard Wine Glass tutorials!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wine-O Corky Coasters

  1. natty nook says:

    Awesome. I love using corks to make stuff. If you need to get rid of more corks, check out this post I wrote – http://nattynook.net/2011/04/01/wine-cork-craft-ideas/

  2. Kat says:

    Laugh out loud at this post since I have exactly the same problem. All of my glass vases are filled with corks.. thanks for these awesome ideas!! will try them out soon.

  3. Linh says:

    ooohhh these are awesome! great idea!

  4. Rachel says:

    I’m trying to save corks to make a bathmat!

  5. On The Go Bride says:

    Love, love, love these! I will have to make some of these. Great idea 🙂

  6. I love these! We have a ton of corks ourselves. 🙂

Leave a comment