Pink Lychee Lemonade

Hello there! The sun is shining and it makes me want to start sippin on some lemonade! You can only drink so many vodka lemonades before you need something new and exciting in the mix 🙂

This drink is a variation of a drink at my fave sushi restaurant, their version of lychee lemonade has saki, which I am not as fond of, with lychee syrup and cranberry juice. So I came up with my own version….a blend of lemon, lychee, vanilla vodka and raspberry puree. This sweet and tarte combo resulted in the creation of my Pink Lychee Lemonade!

Here’s what you need:

  • 2oz vanilla vodka
  • 1/2oz raspberry puree
  • 1oz lemon juice
  • 1oz lychee syrup
  • 1-2 lychees

The lychee is a tropical fruit native to china. The edible portion is a smooth white “false-fruit” that surrounds a small inedible black seed (similar to a pomegranate). The edible lychee is contained inside a red, tough and prickly skin.

I found the canned lychees at the local asian market. The come in a can of like a bajillion (maybe 30 or 40) in a lychee syrup, which is and integral part of the drink! The lychee has a sweet and strange, perfume-like scent and taste. Meh I can’t really explain it, but you will LOVE this drink 🙂

Step 1: Blend a handful of raspberries to make raspberry puree. If you want to strain seeds, you can do so with a cheesecloth!

Step 2: Mix clear ingredients in shaker with ice, including lemon juice, vanilla vodka, and lychee syrup.

Step 3: Add in raspberry puree to shaker and mix vigorously. The raspberry puree is kind of hard to work with, but a little goes a long way. After experimenting, 1/2oz seemed to be the magic amount to avoid clotting/chunking, while still giving that raspberry flavor!

Step 4: Strain into martini glass over 1-2 of the lychee fruit nuts, and then serve with lemon garnish.

This drink is so fun and unique! The raspberry and vanilla vodka are sweet and the lemon juice give the drink a tart finish. I was afraid to eat the lychees at first, but after soaking in the drink for a bit, it absorbs part of the cocktail and is like a mini-jello-like alcohol-soaked treasure 🙂

This is the perfect drink for a summer gathering! You could make up a big batch of the raspberry lemonade and have the vodka and lychee separate as a DIY cocktail bar. Give this strange tart treat a try!

Enjoy!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pink Lychee Lemonade

  1. Maria says:

    Happy hour at your house must be SOOO FUN!

    • Haha you have NO idea 🙂 I’m always having people over to drink em cuz I really like to just have champagne! My poor husband…having wild girls nights does wear a toll of him, thank god for noise canceling headphones!

  2. Stan says:

    Lychee has been one of my favorite cocktail ingredients over the last year — and it’s perfect for summer!

Leave a comment