Tequila Verde

Time for another cocktail post 🙂 I so badly want to be drinking one of these right now rather than reviewing pharmacy law….seriously kill me! Anywho as I dream about drinking one of these you should get out to the store and pick up ingredients so you can have one TONIGHT! Or this afternoon if your brain is fried like mine….

This drink has to be one of my favorites! Made it a while ago but was waiting for the perfect time to post it, which apparently is today! I call it “Tequila Verde” which literally means Green Tequila. Haha I hope my knowledge of this one spanish word is amusing 🙂

Here’s what you need:

2oz “good” tequila…..don’t go cuervo or any other disgusting varieties (if you “hate” tequila this is probably why….) get a silver tequila that is 100% agave

1/2 cup fresh cilantro (weird right? just wait!)

1 cup fresh mint

1 cup sugar

1 jalepeno and 1 lime

splash of champagne or sparkling SOMETHING

1. Melt 1 cup of sugar in 1 cup of water. After cooling, take herb leaves (cilantro and mint) and simple syrup and puree in a small chopper, or a large one. I want a cuisinart SO badly but my tiny chopper will do for now. I left mine with little bits of the herbs in the sugar puree for “character” but you could probably blend it down into a smooth green syrup.

2. Alright after uploading this picture I am remembering that it wasn’t character that I wanted with my syrup, I just have a crappy blender! I used a french press to filter the extra herb bits out of the syrup….creative huh?? Then the rimming. This is the most important part of the drink. Rub jalepeno then lime on the rim of each drink. Dip in salt and then sugar.Yep, double rim 🙂

3. Mix 1oz of syrup, 2oz of tequila, a freshly squeezed lime (about 1-2oz) and top off with champagne or sparkling substitute. Garnish with jalepeno and lime slice. The recipe from which is is based recommended ginger beer which I thought was similar to champagne.

This drink is delicious! The cilantro and mint give the drink so many dimensions (yep I said it) and if you’re not a fan of tequila this is a great way to get your feet wet. I little extra work for a cocktail, but once the syrup is made, mix up a pitcher and start the fiesta 🙂

Enjoy your weekend!! Stay thirsty my friends…

NOTE: This drink is loosely based off of the Food Network’s Green Hornet

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tequila Verde

  1. There we go fresh herbs – cilantro and mint… so it has to be healthy right! I bet it knocks your socks off!
    Debbie 🙂

  2. i cannot wait to try this. tequila is my second favorite spirit, (vodka will always have first) and its because i have discovered quality 100% agave tequila! perhaps ill make one tonight.

  3. Rachel says:

    Yummy! This is just one more reason to have a fiesta themed graduation party! Tequila and pinatas!

Leave a comment