Margarita UP!

I never liked tequila, that is until I met my friend Liza. It might have something to do with a story my sister likes to tell about me and the eggs….maybe I’ll share another time. The cure of all sorts, Liza taught me, is a shot of TEQUILA! After spending endless amounts of time with that girl this summer, I learned to love that evil spirit and how to make it my own 🙂

 

Margarita Up with my hubby in Cancun

 

This cocktail is one of my new favorites! It’s a spin-off of a drink I had on my honeymoon in Cancun. It was called “Margarita Up.” It’s a sweet margarita, a way for those who don’t like tequila to tolerate it, then love it! I watched the bartender make it over and over again….and over and over….and somehow I couldn’t quite remember. Hmmm….anyways, here’s my version. Enjoy!

 

My Margarita Up!

 

Margarita Up

1.5 oz tequila

3 oz orange juice

1 oz lime juice

1.5 oz simple syrup

sugar for rimming

 

The line up

 

1. First, make your simple syrup. Mix 1 cup of water with 1 cup of white cane sugar in glass mixing cup/bowl and microwave for 2 minutes. Stir until clear.

2. Then throw the ingredients and ice into your shaker. If you don’t have a shaker, get one! An essential bar tool is a stainless steel shaker. I use mine almost every day (which is probably why I write a blog about cocktails…).

I would recommend using fresh lime juice, for 1 oz it takes about half of a squeezed lime. I usually cut mine half store bought if I’m making more than a couple drinks!

 

 

Suga Suga...

 

 

3. Lastly, sugar coat the rim and pour her in!

100% agave nectar is the best tequila…the kind you can drink all night without a headache! Even on a budget you can find quality tequila. Lunazul is $20 and 100% agave!

 

 

Don’t say you “can’t do tequila” until you try this little number! Drink responsibly, these can sneak up on ya 🙂

 

Time to celebrate!

 

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Margarita UP!

  1. Catherine Blass says:

    Hi, mrscummingsrx! Great recipe – I’ve heard orange juice in a margarita is the trick! I’ve been really into organic tequilas – they really don’t leave you with a hangover and they TASTE BETTER!!! I’ve just tried a delicious new one called Puro Verde – I got it online after a recommendation (www.DrinkUpNY.com). Going to try Margarita Up tonight! I enjoy your blog!

    • How was the marg? I love this drink…..I had forgotten about it but it sounds like a winner for my cocktail menu this next weekend. If only it wasn’t still MONDAY 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    Oh thank you thank you Mrs. Cummings!!!

    This drink is amazingly delicious! I’ve had about 3-5 drinks tonight! I love them.. I definatley need a shaker and lemon squeezer to help me with the labor, I couldn’t make them as fast as I could drink them.

  3. crharasty says:

    try dipping you margarita glass in this:

    Lime-salt-sugar: for rims of margarita glasses
    • Zest of one lime
    • 2 tablespoons kosher salt
    • 2 tablespoons sugar
    Blend together lime, salt and sugar in a small blender or mini food chopper.

  4. Pingback: Happy Cinco Week! « Live For the Season

Leave a comment