Star Fruitcello

Oooooh time for a new cocktail! I’m excited to announce that I have added a new ingredient to my mixins….STARFRUIT!! This was provoked by one of my husband’s comments “You’re going to run out of fruits and there won’t be any cocktails left to make!” WRONG! I don’t think I’ve seen or heard of this fruit since I learned my shapes in kindergarten πŸ™‚ Well, it’s back!

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 starfruit
  • 3oz vodka
  • 1oz limoncello
  • 1oz sweetened lime juice (or 1/2oz lime juice and 1/2 oz simple syrup)

Step 1: Start by muddling the starfruit in a mortar and pestle. It should make about 2oz of starfruit juice and pulp.

Step 2: Toss starfruit pulp, vodka, limoncello, and lime juice into shaker.

Step 3: Prepare your garnish! I dipped a piece of starfruit into sugar and curled a lime zest overΒ  the edge. So cute!

Star Fruit Fun Facts:

  • Star Fruit is a tropical fruit grown in Thailand and throughout Southeast Asia, Australia, South America.
  • Star Fruits are very healthy with lots of vitamin C and full of antioxidants.
  • Star Fruits are packed with lots of fiber and have only 30 CALORIES!!

Step 4: Strain into martini glass and ENJOY!!

Yum yum yum! This drink was so good! Star fruit tastes like a tart citrus-like melon…..and the lemon and lime complement it well. This drink is definitely on the more tart side, but adding more simple syrup could tame it out for those with the sweet tooth.

If you want a unique drink for your next gathering (or you just want to figure out what the heck a starfruit is…) try the Star Fruitcello πŸ™‚

Enjoy!!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Star Fruitcello

  1. Kasey says:

    I have an idea for your next blog….

    how to make your best friend peacock feather earrings πŸ™‚

    OR…wait not OR…AND… how to get your best friend drunk on two fruit drinks…we can test this out in a month because i BOOKED MY TICKET!!!!!

  2. I LOVE star fruit!! It looks delicious. Not being a pharmacist, I may mix the starfruit in a mortar and pestle. I am willing to take that chance. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

