Mrs. Cummings Rx Blog Makeover

Hello there!! Everyone anticipating the start of their weekend tomorrow?? This week flew by! At least I got something on my to-do accomplished…

Hehe…my husband would disagree, but I think that I completed the most important task on that list πŸ™‚

My blog is definitely my recreational escape from the “real world.” So I don’t always have time to make everything pretty and perfect…until now! I was looking over some of my favorite blogs and they all have beautiful headers and a clear theme, and I’ve never really had that.

So I started with the header….I whipped up this little baby from scratch using a trial of Photoshop. LOVE IT! I wanted a mix between fancy and casual, so I made a floral boutique icon with an edgy font.

Next up, a way to sort through all my fabulous tutorials! People who don’t read blogs often like a fast and easy way to navigate through archives of interest. I previously had descriptions with links on each of my topic pages…..but nothing says click on me like a photo-labeled snap-shot style button! I have to credit this idea to my girl Jeromina at paper, plate, and plane….she also has these adorable picture buttons on her site!

Lastly, a mild background. I know where’s the fun in that…but I think that in the past my backgrounds have been so loud that they take away from my posts! So I made this stitch background on ColourLovers. This site is awesome. You can make backgrounds from scratch or simply color backgrounds other people have made, and it’s FREE! My username is mrscummingsrx if you want to use any other backgrounds I have made!

I recommend doing makeovers like this early in the blogging process otherwise you might have a TON of post buttons to make, which took up the better part of my day during my “15 minute breaks” πŸ˜‰

My husband even said “wow honey, it looks so professional”….um does that mean I can be a stay-at-home blogger wife!? I’ll work on him πŸ™‚

So here’s she is, the newly-improved Mrs. Cummings Rx….what do you think??

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Mrs. Cummings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mrs. Cummings Rx Blog Makeover

  1. mb says:

    I had to stop by and check out your blog crafts and cocktails awesome. LOVE the photo buttons I’ve been trying to find something like for my blog they are awesome.

    Well done for sure!

  2. Ms. Messy says:

    Photoshop rocks!!! I couldn’t live without it. The new look is positively FAB!

  3. CraftyStaci says:

    Cocktails and tutorials? You are my kind of girl! I love all the black and white and I think your banner is lovely. Great makeover!

  4. Meghan says:

    Blog looks great chica πŸ™‚

  5. Stan says:

    I like the makeover – nice job!

  6. Jeromina says:

    Love your new blog look! Ha, I don’t think you need to credit me for the buttons! I just did what a lot of sites do. πŸ˜€ You’re doing such a great job with your blog, keep it up, girl!

  7. tw715 says:

    The new look totally rocks!

Leave a Reply

