Spiral Beadwoven Necklace Part 1

Been working on a beading project from HELL! I pride myself on crafting up projects that take minimal amounts of time and that I can basically think up in my head. This project is definitely NOT that πŸ™‚ This will be an attempt at a tutorial of my journey through making this necklace. It’s gonna be painful…

Linh the Beadworker!

This is my beading mentor and great friend Linh. Don’t be fooled by that sweet asian face…shes a beading maniac “2 pink, 3 silver, loop-dee-loop, around 10 times!” Haha she’s great I just envy her patience and if I make it through making this necklace without giving up, she’ll be to thank!

Here’s what you need:

Fireline

Flexible beading needles

Seedbeads (all same size) 1 core color and 1-4 outer colors

Patience- about 10-20 hours worth

Note: No drinking and beading…..it will not end well, just trust me πŸ™‚

Step 1: String 1 core bead and then take needle through the “other side” and pull through. This will secure the bead. You can move it to end end by pulling (advantage of using Fire Line). Start with 3 feet of string and move bead 6 inches from the end.

Step 2: Next string 3 core beads (silver) and 3 outer beads onto string. The core bead color will not change, the outer color will change as many times as you like. The core bead color will be seen “peeping through” as Linh likes to describe it.

Step 3: Take beading needle through the now 4 core beads starting with the first bead that was strung. Pull tight. The pink beads will loop around on the side.

Step 4: String 1 core bead and 3 outer beads. Repeat previous process by pulling needle through 4 core beads. This time there will be a total of 5 so skip the first bead. Pull tight. the 3 outer beads will make a little loop again. Push next to previous loop….you will now have 2 rows of 3 outer beads surrounding the core. Repeat this a total of 10 times. It will start to look like the picture above.

This picture is of 10x Step 4. This will give 2 complete spirals of the outer bead around the core.

Step 5: After 10 rotations, you will switch colors of the outer beads. I’m doing 4 colors of outer beads but you can do anywhere from 1-4. To change colors you can simply switch to new color or “taper” off the old outer and onto the new….this give the necklace a more gradual change between colors. The taper would be as follows:

1 core bead, 2 pinks, 1 purple (2 times)

1 core bead, 1 pink, 2 purples (2 times)

1 core bead, 3 purples (10 times)

Here’s what I have so far! Should be very time consuming but very beautiful! Wish me luck πŸ™‚

Next up: adding string, adding crystals, adding tassels

 

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spiral Beadwoven Necklace Part 1

  1. OMG….you’re so brave! That just scares me…..lol. Anything I have to count or keep track of and I’m outta there. Good for you!!

  2. Jeromina says:

    Definitely looks painful! I have patience for a lot of crafts, but this will drive me insane. Good job for sticking to it!

  3. looks so pretty so far!

Leave a Reply

