Hibiscus Passion Martini

Time to celebrate February! Valentine’s projects and drinks, pink and red EVERYTHING šŸ™‚

Here’s a sweet cocktail to try. I’m running out of the usuals so I’m branching out. I started looking at cocktail menus at local pubs and found this one….or a version of it šŸ˜‰ After searching 5 health food stores I finally found the secret ingredient, hibiscus flowers!! So with great joy, I present to you…..the Hibiscus Passion Martini!

Here’s what you need:

3oz vodka

1oz hibiscus syrup

a few hibiscus flowers (optional)

2 tsp fresh ginger

1/4 cup sugar

2 limes

1/4 whole cucumber sliced

1. Start by crushing fresh ginger slices with sugar and 1/2 lime squeezed juice. I used my NEW mortar and pestle but you could use a muddler or even a food processor.

2. Muddle in a few peeled cucumber slices (4-6), then mix in juice from remaining limes until you have a smooth ginger-lime-cucumber syrup. This can go into your shaker.

I found this hibiscus syrup at Williams-Sonoma but you can also order it on the company’s website here. The flowers are edible and soaked in a hibiscus simple syrup which is perfect for drinks! They are so yummy and serve as a final cocktail treat when you get to the bottom of your drink! They are kind of spendy though, so I found some dried hibiscus petals at a health food store so I could make mass amount of hibiscus syrup for parties. Just use 2 tablespoonfuls with 1 cup of water and 1 cup of sugar.

3. Add hibiscus syrup and vodka into shaker. Shake it up with ice and strain into martini glass over a hibiscus flower! Garnish with cucumber and lime slice.

Time for a passion-tini!!

This cocktail is amazing! One of my best I’m sure. Finding the hibiscus is a pain but it’s a really unique drink and whoever you end up mixing for will surely appreciate the effort! Drink up….Happy February!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hibiscus Passion Martini

  1. this looks YUM! I definitely need to work on stocking my bar šŸ™‚

  2. oh man, that looks tasty šŸ™‚

    i have a few formulas sketched out using dried hibiscus (which is pretty easy to find in bulk tea sections)…I bet you could make a nice syrup or vodka infusion from it.

  3. NurseE says:

    this beverage is beyond tasty!

  4. Cassie Ward says:

    Ok…you aer sooooo making me these next time i come see you!!! šŸ™‚ love you!

  5. wao! this looks yummi! ill be trying this next week end! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

