Cocktails for DUMMIES

Sitting in the craft room organizing projects for the week…..avoiding the laundry and packing I should be doing! Off to see my best friend Kasey this week in Indiana. I’ve been telling everyone I’m going to Chicago to make it seem more glamorous (hey, we might go there…) but the reality is I’m going to West Lafayette, Indiana to visit Kasey’s new home away from home as she work’s on her Civil Engineering PhD at Purdue.

Anyways, thought I’d whip up a little arrival gift for her. Hence the post “cocktails for dummies”

1. I’ve been addicted to herbs and spices in my cocktails lately….probably because I’ve used every juice and fruit combination imaginable already. So I portioned a few small baggies of my favorites for her to make cocktails on her own (or for me to make for her while I visit).

2. I found these little baggies at Joann Fabrics, where I got a bag of 500 for $4. They are great for packing spices or jewelry. I use them all the time! After packing the spices/sugar in the baggies, I topped off each baggie with a 3″x 2″ piece of cardstock.

3. For each spice/sugar, I made a little cocktail recipe card to attach to the bag. These are lavender, hibiscus flower petals, and vanilla sugar……which can be turned into Lavender Lemon Drop, Hibiscus Martini, and Vanilla Mojito.

4. Attach the recipe tags to each spice with a colored brad. I had these lying around from a scrapbooking set but you could use a string or safety pin too!

5. Lastly bag it up  and tie with a ribbon. I used a little bit of raffia to give it a rustic look.

This was such a fun and easy project! You could put 1 pouch in an envelope with a card for a birthday or just because. I love making little kits for people to use in the kitchen. Let’s face it, Kasey probably won’t be making her own cocktails anytime soon, but at least we will have the goods for some good drinks this week 🙂

 

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails, Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cocktails for DUMMIES

  1. Kasey says:

    Way to ruin my surprise 🙂 Cant wait to see you! Have a good flight! Love yoU!

  2. Cute! That’s a fun way to bless a friend.

Leave a Reply

