12 lbs of Christmas: Bike, Run, and Climb to 500 Calories

Today was tough. I slept like 3 hours last night…no matter what I did, I couldn’t fall asleep. Eventually at 3am I decided to go drink eggnog and read my favorite blogs for a couple hours! So when my 10 hour shift was up today, I was ready to bolt out of the pharmacy! As I’m shutting down my computer, I get a gmail message: read for the gym!? (In the other window my friend Kasey chimes in after my whining “Don’t go to the gym, you’re too tired, and you won’t be able to sleep! I’m tired too, today isn’t a gym day!”)

It was Marina. Ugh. I told my friend Marina, fitness buff extraordinaire not to let me flake out on my new fitness routine. This girl is sick….she does like 2 workouts a day, rain or shine, happy or hungover, NEVER misses a day in the gym. Now why would I ask her to keep me on track….bah I dunno, but definitely regretted it today. I gave her a bajillion excuses for why I couldn’t go, including the fact that I forgot my sports bra and she didn’t budge. She lives a few states away but I was still afraid enough of her to get my butt to the gym on the way home from work.

Didn’t really have a plan so Miss Marina told me to run, bike, and climb stairs and “some abs for fun”. I was just going to sit on the floor of the gym and cry but I put this plan together, it was KILLER!

Mrs. Cummings Rx Ultimate Workout:

Bike, Run, and Climb to 500 Calories

ACTIVITY TIME CALORIES
Bike 20 minutes 150
Run 15 minutes 175
Stair Climber 10 minutes 125
Bike 5 minutes 50
TOTAL 50 minutes 500 calories
Tips to Make the Burn

1.) Bike: Start at a low incline, increasing the incline by double every 5 minutes. By minute 15 you should be crawling up that hill

2.) Run: Start at an incline of 3 and work up increasing the incline every 5 minutes. Run the first 5 minutes at 5.5mph then work 1 minute intervals (coming back to 4.0 every other minute) from 5.5mph to 7.5mph.

3.) Stair climber: You have to burn about 10+ calories per minute on the stair climber. You can keep a steady pace or work up every 2-3 minutes ending with 15 cal/min.

4.) Bike: Set to max hill for 3 minutes. Peddle on straight road for 1 minute then use the last minute for cool down.

I loved this workout! I was so tired before and after but the workout parts went by so fast because it was always changing with the intervals and different exercises. Well ladies and gentlemen, thanks to Marina I made it through workout #6 of my 12 lbs of Christmas challenge. I’m down 4lbs as of today and I feel great!

Don’t throw it all away this holiday season….head to the gym and burn a few callies so you can eat those holiday cookies and candies with pride 🙂

Click Bike Run Climb 500 to print it off for your next gym session!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Mrs. Cummings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 12 lbs of Christmas: Bike, Run, and Climb to 500 Calories

  1. Maria says:

    You are a machine! Way to go!!

  2. Eliza says:

    I burned my callies today while stirring my mac and cheese. Crap.

  3. Tarrah says:

    Woot woot! 4 lbs down is Awesome!

Leave a Reply

