DIY Christmas: Wine Lover Plaque

Getting exhausted from all the crafting this weekend. Might have to take a nap 🙂 Alright the last of the Christmas DIY Gifts for now. This one is awesome and very affordable!

I bought one of these wine signs at an antique store for my bff Kasey for her birthday. They didn’t have one that said “wine lush” but I got one anyways. They were only $20 and when I got home I wish I would have bought more! MT is too far for a shopping trip so I decided to make them myself!

Here’s what you need:

1 12-14″x4″ piece of wood

Wood Drill

20″ of Wire (I used dk bronze but any color will do)

Corks

Acrylic Paints (Tan, Cream, Brown, and Red)

Paint Brushes

I got 1 long piece of wood from Home Depot and had them cut it into 14″ pieces for me. It ended up making 4 plaques and it was only $8.

First you have to drill holes for the wire. I made this hole 2″ in and 1″ down on the board. I’m not sure what size drill bit it was but just make sure that the wire you have can fit through the hole! If you don’t have a drill, you could nail the wire to the back of the plaque instead.

Now for the painting! I painted a cream base coat on each board. You wouldn’t have to do a base coat if you just wanted the wood color as the background.

Then I used a light brown/light tan color and ran stripes down each board. After blending with the cream, it gives the board a finished wooden look.

I painted a brown border around each board. I used the edge of a cardboard box the keep the lines straight since the paint was wet, but if you waited until the base was dry you could use tape too!

Lastly, attach the wire through the holes. I made a small coil through the front to keep the wire in place and then threaded it through. After painting, yo may have to re-drill the holes.

I strung corks and tied raffia bows on this one but you can leave the wire plain too! I had a lot of fun with this. I love mixing crafting with home improvement things like drills and hammers. Makes feel like such a tough woman 🙂

This is such a unique gift…..perfect for someone in their 20-somethings that could use some decor to cover up those bare walls 🙂 Or someone who loves wine and isn’t afraid to show it.

For more holiday gift ideas click HERE

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

