DIY Christmas: Peppermint Bark

Finished a lot yesterday but still finishing up some projects today! My original goals of 7 projects in one day was unrealistic….but I will get them done before the weekend is over 🙂

Peppermint Bark! I thought it was a lot harder than it actually was…just melt, crush, and break it up. This is a good gift for co-workers or just to have on hand for neighbors or friends you see around the holidays.

Here’s what you need:

2 bags of chocolate chips

6-8 candy canes

1 cup almonds

1 tsp peppermint oil

Crush up your candy canes. I used a thick plastic bag and metal mallet. Careful because the the candycanes will break the bag as you crush them! My husband discovered this as he whacked the hell out of them…..he was soon-after fired from helping me.

Next melt your chocolate chips. After melted smooth, add a few drops of peppermint extract and slather onto a wax-paper covered cookie sheet. Best way to melt the chocolate is with a double boiler so you don’t burn the chocolate. But if you’re lazy like me, just put it in the microwave, checking every 30 sec to 1 min.

Then sprinkle on the peppermint and almonds. You can mix them into the chocolate if you prefer, but I think it looks more festive this way. You might want to do both though because as I discovered after breaking them apart, you will lose some of your toppings!

Allow to rest in the fridge over night. Then start “barking” them apart. I tried to use a knife at first, but that was worthless so just use your hands and break them into jagged pieces 🙂

Then package into pretty bags 🙂 This sheet ended up making about 5 bags worth….I would say like single serving, not “family size”.

Told you it was easy! If you’re like me and not all about the baking over the holidays this is a great way to contribute a hand-made treat to friends and family this holiday season.

Good luck!

For more DIY Christmas Ideas click HERE

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

