DIY Holiday Gift: Cocktail in a Box

The clock is ticking to get all those holiday gifts wrapped and tucked under the tree! Luckily online shopping has saved me this year and I have been able to focus on my hand-crafted gifts more….or accumulating my ideas. Trying to get posting the worthy ideas so I can pass them on so my readers have enough time to make them too.

Here’s the first of my DIY holiday gifting posts: Cocktail in a Box! It’s a cute and easy one perfect for a hostess gift or a filler in a stocking/gift basket….thought it up at work this week as I was counting the hours down to freedom 🙂

Here’s what you need:

2-12×12 holiday cardstock

Ribbon

Mini-cocktail mixers

Mini-liquor bottles

I started by making the box. Use a 12×12″ cardstock and trim 3″ on one side to make a 9×12″ sheet. Trim an extra 1/2″ off one for the bottom part of the box.

The easiest way to make a box….of any size….is to make an “x” in the middle of the sheet, then fold 2 sides to the middle. If you want the box to be square, fold the other two sides (parallel) to the center also. If you want a rectangle, fold the sides in about the same length as you did with the other sides (for example fold 2 sides to the center, measure flaps, they are 2″, and fold the other sides in 2″ too).

Make a slit on the 2 folds parallel with the long side of the box. Fold the sides in and place a piece of double stick tape on the long flap to attach the side of the box together.

Add tissue paper and place a mixer and mini-liquor bottle in the box. You also might want to add a cocktail recipe card if the mixer doesn’t have one on the back!

Tada! A cocktail in a box. I usually give these out post finals in a paper bag with ribbon but somehow the box presentation makes it more of a present.

Well I got a lot done today! Luckily my friends are lushes and they will appreciate these. Might have to scale up the size for some of them….don’t know how far an ounce of vodka will go 🙂

Happy Crafting!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails, Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY Holiday Gift: Cocktail in a Box

  1. Love this idea….and LOVE the celtic knotwork decorations. You’re so crafty!!

    • I know aren’t they the cutest!? I made them using my cricut….that cartridge has like 100 shapes and I keep using that one! It looks like a snowflake if you make it white but it looks like modern lace in other colors. Love it!

  2. Fab idea, I know a few people who will love these! 🙂

  3. Forma Living says:

    I love this idea and it’s perfect for my sister and her husband! We have slimmed down our gift giving over the years, and well… they are lushes.

Leave a Reply

