Port Sangria

Looks like somebody has a case of the MONDAYS! My husband broke his toe, meaning I walked the dogs after a long day and fetched his prescriptions, and work (well actually I work for free as part of my schooling…but let’s not go there today) was stressful. The only thing that could cheer me up is a nice glass pitcher of SANGRIA 🙂

Mmm soaking my sorrows with that sweetly tainted grape juice

No time for chit chat today…I just want to have my delicious pitcher of juice and find some reality tv. Didn’t have time to go to the grocery store, so here’s what I came up with:

375ml bottle of port

1/2 bottle of red wine

1 orange

2 limes

2 lemons

sparkling water (optional)

 

Easy as 1-2-3

1. Empty port and 1/2 bottle of red wine into pitcher of ice. Port is a sweet fortified wine originating from Portugal, which is made by stopping the fermentation early to retain residual sugars and adding a brandy-like spirit for added kick. It comes in dry and semi-dry varieties. This sangria allows lots of variety since you get to mix two kind of red wines! I used a sangria with this Fonseco Premium Reserve port.

2. Squeeze in the juice of orange, limes, and lemons.

3. Top off with sparkling water. I used the orange flavored san pellegrino…as in many of the recipes this month (costco got the best of me so I’m trying to work my way through it!).

Never made the sangria with port before but this was amazing! This little pitcher won’t last long, but hopefully it will help cure your case of the Mondays. Enjoy!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Cocktails and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Port Sangria

  1. Ashley says:

    All of your cocktails look delicious, but i LOVE sangria!! I’ll have to try this recipe soon when I’m having a Glee night!

  2. Going to try this this Friday for a girls night! Is there a particular red wine? Whats your favorite? I notice a difference in all red wines, just asking, thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

