Paint O’ Lantern

Another crafty weekend! Craft club with my girls in the garage…I’ll explain my “craft room” another time…followed by a night of celebration and a DAY of recovery 🙂 Needless to say I won’t be posting drink recipes for a couple days but I have been working on some crafts!

 

The carving crew!

 

Paint O’ Lantern: n. a carved pumpkin with a painted face that illuminates light through the carved skin

After my new paint inventory I snagged at Joann’s last weekend, I’ve been trying to paint anything and everything. So when I saw this idea in the Martha Halloween Catalog, I decided to go for it. That and I wanted to stand out so that my husband would pick my pumpkin in the annual blinded pumpkin carving contest 🙂

1. Carve a jagged edge on the top of the pumpkin and scoop the guts! Then pin up your pattern and carve the outline by making a thin slice through the pattern. That is “hardcore” cider beside my batty creation…it’s very fitting.

Bat bat babay…

2. Once you have sliced an outline of the pattern, carve out the background with a knife or carving tool. I went half as deep as the pumpkin shell but the closer you can get to the inside the more light will show through!

 

Lighter Up!

 

3. Sponge on the paint color of your choice and you’re done! I used black acrylic paint. This will not be water-proof so make sure your outdoor pumpkin is under cover or it might be a runny mess.

Pumpkin carving is my favorite Halloween activity! I won the contest, Mike said it was purely due to the ridiculous “saying” painted on the back 🙂

 

The "Craft Club"...the boys and their friend, Ceaser

 

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

