Birdie Nest Centerpiece

The sun was out today, time to celebrate spring!! My entry table needed something springy, so I was on a mission to find a crafty decor! Went to the craft store on a whim (ie no shopping list) this weekend and came up with this little cutesie project.

Here’s what you need:

Styrofoam ring

Small piece of cardboard (same size as the ring)

Brown/tan crafting moss

Wooden birdhouse

Bamboo skewers

Twine

Cardstock, stamps, and colored brasses

Step 1: Cut cardboard into circular piece to fit underneath the Styrofoam ring. This will serve as the base for the centerpiece.

Step 2: Then glue the styrofoam ring to the cardboard with hot glue! You could use tacky glue too, but hot glue is fast and strong so that’s what I always go to :)

Step 3: Paint your bird house! I bought this robin’s egg blue acrylic paint because it seemed springy to me. This birdhouse was $1 at Joann Fabrics!! They have so many different kinds!

Step 4: Now for the messy part! Hot glue the moss to the cardboard base and the styrofoam ring. I used scissors to clip the moss because as you pull it apart lots of tiny mos fragments fly EVERYWHERE…..just a tip!

Step 5: Add your birdhouse to the “nest” after drying.

Step 6: Attach bamboo skewers to styrofoam ring (just stab them in) and tie twine piece across, allowing enough to droop in the middle.

Step 7: Add banner saying with brass tacks or clothes-pins. I chose the obvious “spring” but express whatever spring-like saying you please.

Drum-roll please………

This project was so easy! And it is decorating my entry way for spring in a bright and unique way! If you’re looking for something to spice up your spring centerpieces, give this project a try!

Thanks for stopping!! and HAPPY SPRING!

About mrscummingsrx

Almost a pharmacist.... but over my years of schooling I have learned there's more than packing pills that makes me happy! Blogging about my prescriptions for a happy life....mainly crafting, cocktails, and my cute canines :) Thanks for visiting!!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Birdie Nest Centerpiece

  1. to cute…if i didn’t think my 18 month old would destroy it we would have one!! I’ll have to keep it in mind for next spring, after weve worked on some table manners!! :)

  2. Meghan R says:

    So totally cute :) And I see you are a fan of Maurices. I love that place!

  3. Jeromina says:

    Pretty! Great job! :D

  4. Nicole says:

    So cute! I am super glad you found my blog! I cant wait to read about your adventures in crafting and cocktails!

Leave a Reply

